Stuff the internet says about data for January 1st - February 1st, 2015

New year and hopefully more consistent blogging!

We continue with summarizing the news around the three pillars of Monokkel: persistence, processing and presentation on a regular basis. To get more frequent updates you can follow our Twitter account http://twitter.com/monokkelas

Persistence

On the Balkanization of Data Storage http://blogs.vmware.com/cto/balkanization/ #datastorage

Anyone tried platfora? Does it deliver as promised #bigdata http://www.platfora.com/blog-post/platforas-end-end-big-data-analytics-architecture/

Introducing practical and robust anomaly detection in a time series https://blog.twitter.com/2015/introducing-practical-and-robust-anomaly-detection-in-a-time-series #datascience #bigdata

“Column-oriented database: Introduction (Part 1)” —@hellomichibye https://medium.com/@hellomichibye/column-oriented-database-introduction-part-1-572e5780aebb?source=tw-lo_5e0802594483-1422554219344 #nosql

Personalization at Spotify Using Apache Cassandra http://planetcassandra.org/blog/personalization-at-spotify-using-apache-cassandra/ #bigdata

RT @moustad: Monokkel will be speaking about Neo4j at JavaBin Oslo - http://blog.monokkel.io/monokkel-speaking-at-javabin-oslo/ @neo4j @MonokkelAS #graphdb #techtalk

Parallel processing-Relational Databases Vs NoSQL systems http://learnallyeah.com/parallel-processing-relational-databases-vs-nosql-systems/ #nosql #bigdata

Databases That Do High-Volume Transactions at Scale: Part Two http://thenewstack.io/databases-high-volume-transactions-scale-part-two/

F1: A Distributed SQL Database That Scales http://blog.acolyer.org/2015/01/06/f1-a-distributed-sql-database-that-scales/ #bigdata

Presentation

Using Lego to teach data #visualization http://blog.mattwaite.com/post/108885953514/using-lego-to-teach-data-visualization

10 steps to #visualizing your data http://www.cardinalpath.com/10-steps-to-visualizing-your-data/

#JavaScript in 2015 http://glenmaddern.com/articles/javascript-in-2015

How to represent contradictions http://fredvanamstel.com/blog/how-to-represent-contradictions #visualization

4 Data #visualization Tools For Captivating Data Journalism http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/4-data-visualization-tools-captivating-data-journalism/

Presentation

Using Lego to teach data #visualization http://blog.mattwaite.com/post/108885953514/using-lego-to-teach-data-visualization

10 steps to #visualizing your data http://www.cardinalpath.com/10-steps-to-visualizing-your-data/

#JavaScript in 2015 http://glenmaddern.com/articles/javascript-in-2015

How to represent contradictions http://fredvanamstel.com/blog/how-to-represent-contradictions #visualization

4 Data #visualization Tools For Captivating Data Journalism http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/4-data-visualization-tools-captivating-data-journalism/

Other

ZooKeeper: wait-free coordination for internet scale systems http://blog.acolyer.org/2015/01/27/zookeeper-wait-free-coordination-for-internet-scale-systems/

Data Discovery in the Data Value Chain http://ibmdatamag.com/2015/01/data-discovery-in-the-data-value-chain/ #bigdata

A nice post about queuing theory: https://thetechsolo.wordpress.com/2015/01/25/queueing-theory-explained/

Docker...Containers, Microservices and Orchestrating the Whole Symphony http://java.dzone.com/articles/dockercontainers-microservices #architecture

How to create a web scale infrastructure based on Docker, CoreOS, Vulcand and Mesos. http://www.recorditblog.com/post/how-to-create-a-web-scale-infrastructure-based-on-docker-coreos-vulcand-and-mesos-and-why-object-storage-becomes-the-de-facto-data-repository/ #architecture

Do Good Microservices Architectures Spell the Death of the Enterprise Service Bus? https://www.voxxed.com/blog/2015/01/good-microservices-architectures-death-enterprise-service-bus-part-one/

My four year old taught me everything I needed to know about #bigdata http://blog.triggar.com/my-four-year-old-taught-me-everything-i-needed-to-know-about-big-data/

What 2015 Will Bring for #bigdata http://www.datanami.com/2015/01/05/2015-will-bring-big-data/

Author

Tarjei Romtveit

Co-founder of Monokkel with solid experience in systems design, data management, data analysis, software development and agile processes.