Stuff the internet says about data for March 1st - April 1st, 2015

Here is this month's reading list!

Persistence

RT @MaxCRoser: From 10 Million Dollar to 9 cents! The price of 1GB Hard Drive since 1950 (Source: http://bit.ly/1E4xzDD) http://bit.ly/1E4xzDD

Cassandra 101 : Understanding what is Cassandra http://rene-ace.com/cassandra-101-understanding-what-is-cassandra/ #persistence

#NoSQL and the responsibility shift https://softwareefficiency.wordpress.com/2015/03/14/big-data-technology-and-the-responsibility-shift/ #persistence

Storing billions of rows in Sharded-Redis and HBase per Month http://developers.linecorp.com/blog/?p=1420 #persistence

Turning the database inside-out with Apache Samza http://blog.confluent.io/2015/03/04/turning-the-database-inside-out-with-apache-samza/ #nosql

Almost forgot to mention. Hbase 1.0 http://hortonworks.com/blog/start-new-era-apache-hbase-1-0/ #nosql

Presentation

A @Neo4J tool that translates words and relations into network graphs https://github.com/noduslabs/infranodus #visualization

Risk and reward: #BigData in insurance: http://www.economist.com/news/finance-and-economics/21646260-data-and-technology-are-starting-up-end-insurance-business-risk-and-reward

Analyzing BitCoin Network Transactions with Neo4j http://java.dzone.com/articles/analyzing-bitcoin-network

Processing

Hadoop ignited a "Cambrian explosion," says its creator http://www.techrepublic.com/article/hadoop-ignited-a-cambrian-explosion-says-its-creator/ @mjasay (But Spark is not a stream only tool)

Reactive Machine Learning https://medium.com/data-engineering/reactive-machine-learning-3035b83d18e9 #bigdata #processing

Deep Learning vs Machine Learning vs Pattern Recognition http://quantombone.blogspot.no/2015/03/deep-learning-vs-machine-learning-vs.html

Reactive Machine Learning https://medium.com/data-engineering/reactive-machine-learning-3035b83d18e9 #processing

Life Lessons from Machine Learning https://outlookzen.wordpress.com/2015/03/15/life-lessons-from-machine-learning/ #processing

Applying Machine Learning to Peer to Peer Lending http://datalab.lu/blog/2015/03/11/applying-machine-learning-to-peer-to-peer-lending/ #processing

In Search of an Understandable Consensus Algorithm http://blog.acolyer.org/2015/03/12/in-search-of-an-understandable-consensus-algorithm/ #processing

LMAX Exchange and the Zing JVM by @AzulSystems http://www.slideshare.net/AzulSystems/qcon-london-low-latency-java-in-the-real-world-lmax-exchange-and-the-zing-jvm #processing

PredictionIO launches new analysis suit http://thevarguy.com/open-source-application-software-companies/030615/predictionio-unveils-open-source-predictive-analysis-suit #processing

Paxos made simple http://blog.acolyer.org/2015/03/04/paxos-made-simple/ #processing

Azure Search is now Generally Available http://azure.microsoft.com/blog/2015/03/05/azure-search-is-now-generally-available #Processing

Streaming Big Data: Storm, Spark and Samza http://java.dzone.com/articles/streaming-big-data-storm-spark #processing

Hadoop Creator: If You Want To Succeed With #BigData, Start Small http://readwrite.com/2015/02/25/hadoop-big-data-start-small-doug-cutting

The emergence of Spark http://redmonk.com/dberkholz/2015/03/13/the-emergence-of-spark/

Putting Apache Kafka To Use: A Practical Guide to Building a Stream Data Platform (Part 2) http://blog.confluent.io/2015/02/25/stream-data-platform-2/ data-for-february-1-march-1-2015/) #bigdata

Running Kafka At Scale https://engineering.linkedin.com/kafka/running-kafka-scale #bigdata

Other

RT @Sve_Sic: #Analytics and information management roles rise and fall

#GartnerBI http://t.co/CLU6d3opL3

Spotify Helios in a nutshell: http://www.davidxia.com/2015/03/spotify-helios-in-a-nutshell/

RT @donrelyea: Creative Computation Daily is out! http://paper.li/donrelyea/1314370861 Stories via @MonokkelAS @johanpra @clippingexpres1

So, what’s your Data Strategy? http://www.dbbest.com/blog/what-is-data-strategy/

@foundsays acquired by @elastic https://www.found.no/elastic-acquires-found/ Quite interesting news!

Author

Tarjei Romtveit

Co-founder of Monokkel with solid experience in systems design, data management, data analysis, software development and agile processes.